Go to Top

Dublin Book Festival 2017 – Children’s Programme

DBF-2015-ChildrensProgrammeBanner944x300


Mad Grandad Illustration Workshop with Oisín McGann

Oisín McGann is one of Ireland’s most prolific and best-known writer-illustrators, producing books for all ages of reader. Join him for a loud and rowdy event based around his Mad Grandad series (The O’Brien Press). Whether it’s flying saucers, robot gardeners, mutant fish or dodgy doppelgängers, Grandad and Lenny are always getting themselves into trouble – and it’s a lot of fun watching them get out of it again.

Suitable for ages 5 – 8 years

Fri 3 Nov @ 11am | Boys' School @ Smock Alley Theatre

Free event, booking esstential


The Big Picture with Alan Clarke and Marie-Louise Fitzpatrick

In association with Laureate na nÓg
Come along and help complete our very first Big Picture wall with Alan Clarke and Marie-Louise Fitzpatrick. Alan is best known for his illustrations of the Ross O’Carroll-Kelly series (The O’Brien Press), as well as children’s books such as Something Beginning with P (The O’Brien Press), and Eddie Lenihan’s Irish Tales of Mystery and Magic (Mercier Press). Marie-Louise is the author and illustrator of Izzy and Skunk (D & C Childrens Books), The Sleeping Giant (Irish Amer Book Co), There (Roaring Brook Press) and Owl Bat Bat Owl (Candlewick). She has won 10 CBI Book of the Year Awards, including 4 awards for Book of the Year.
Suitable for all ages

Fri 3 Nov @ 12pm-2pm | The Winter Garden @ Smock Alley Theatre

Free entry. Drop-in event, no booking required


Children’s Treasure Hunt

Why not sign your family up to the Dublin Book Festival Treasure Hunt? Follow our intriguing clues around Temple Bar, then return with all your answers and pick up your well-deserved prize. You can even dress up if you feel like it – give your Halloween outfit another day out! A special prize will be given for the best costume!

 

Fri 3 Nov @ 12pm - 4pm | The Winter Garden @ Smock Alley Theatre

Free entry. Drop-in event, no booking required


The Winter Garden

Take refuge from the cold in our indoor winter garden, where you and your family can curl up on our beanbags with a book and hot chocolate. Try your hand at writing your own story, browse the bookshop or take part in one of our free, fun storytelling sessions and workshops. A free day for all the family where you can immerse yourself in the magical world of books!

 

Fri 3 Nov @ 12.00pm-5.00pm | Banquet Hall @ Smock Alley Theatre

Free entry. Drop-in event, no booking required


 

Red Rover, Red Rover with Kunak McGann

Red Rover, Red Rover – we call YOU over! Join author Kunak McGann for an hour long event of old-school fun and games. Try your hand (and feet) at marbles, jacks or elastics, practise your stealth moves in Grandmother’s Footsteps, throw some shapes in musical statues, and make your very own fortune-teller.

Packed with classics, Red Rover, Red Rover: Games from an Irish Childhood (That You Can Teach Your Kids) (The O’Brien Press) by Kunak McGann has easy instructions, handy tips and ‘risk ratings’ and will whisk readers back to the carefree days of childhood!

Sat 4 Nov @ 11.30am – 12.15pm | Boys School


Children’s Treasure Hunt

Why not sign your family up to the Dublin Book Festival Treasure Hunt? Follow our intriguing clues around Temple Bar, then return with all your answers and pick up your well-deserved prize. You can even dress up if you feel like it – give your Halloween outfit another day out! A special prize will be given for the best costume!

 

Sat 4 Nov @ 12pm - 4pm | The Winter Garden @ Smock Alley Theatre

Free entry. Drop-in event, no booking required


The Winter Garden

Take refuge from the cold in our indoor winter garden, where you and your family can curl up on our beanbags with a book and hot chocolate. Try your hand at writing your own story, browse the bookshop or take part in one of our free, fun storytelling sessions and workshops. A free day for all the family where you can immerse yourself in the magical world of books!

 

Sat 4 Nov @ 12.00pm-5.00pm | Banquet Hall @ Smock Alley Theatre

Free entry. Drop-in event, no booking required


A Sailor Went to Sea, Sea, Sea!

Family Rhyme and Art Fun with Steve McCarthy and Sarah Webb

Join writer, Sarah Webb and illustrator, Steve McCarthy for this interactive event for the whole family. Revisit old favourites like She’ll Be Coming ‘round the Mountain and Teddy Bear, Teddy Bear, and discover new rhymes and songs. Join in the jump rope skipping and the playground games. Watch Steve draw owls, pussycats, boats and sailors, and create your own colourful sailing ship in this creative event. They will be reading from their new book A Sailor went to Sea, Sea, Sea: Favourite Rhymes from an Irish Childhood (The O’Brien Press).

Sat 4 Nov @ 12.30pm – 1.15pm | Boys School

Free entry, places limited. Booking essential.


The Big Picture With Chris Judge and Niamh Sharkey

In association with Laureate na nÓg

A treat for fans of The Lonely Beast and Henry Hugglemonster! Chris Judge and Niamh Sharkey are teaming up to complete our second Big Picture wall. Chris is best known for his Beast book (Andersen Press), as well for his madcap drawings in the Danger is Everywhere series of books (Puffin) with comedian David O’Doherty. Niamh was Ireland’s second Laureate na nÓg. You’d need all your fingers to count the awards she has won for books including Tales of Wisdom (Barefoot Books Ltd) and Wonder and The Gigantic Turnip (Barefoot Books Ltd). Niamh is the creative force behind the Henry Hugglemonster cartoon series on Disney Junior.

Sat 4 Nov @ 1-3pm | The Winter Garden @ Smock Alley Theatre

Free entry. Drop-in event, no booking required


CBI Book Clinic in association with Children’s Books Ireland

Are you a young reader? Looking for a new series to delve into? Feeling uninspired by your bookshelves at home? Do you need a prescription for an exciting new read? Then pop along to the Book Clinic! Visit the Book Doctor, tell them about your favourite books and come away with a personalised Reading Passport, including a prescription for your next book. Each patient will also get a copy of Children’s Books Ireland’s Inis Reading Guide to take home and keep.

 

Sat 4 Nov @ 1pm - 4pm | The Winter Garden @ Smock Alley Theatre

Free entry. Drop-in event, no booking required


Rí-Rá, Róbait agus Ruaille Buaille! A Bilingual storytelling event with Máire Zepf

Beidh Máire Zepf ag léamh óna leabhar nua, Rita agus an Róbat (An tSnathaid Mhór) atá maisithe ag Andrew Whitson. Spórt agus spraoi le cluichí, ceol agus gléasadh suas!

Máire Zepf will read from her new book, Rita agus an Róbat (An tSnathaid Mhór) illustrated by Andrew Whitson. An interactive workshop with games, song and dressing up!

 

Sun 5 Nov @ 11:15am - 12pm | The Winter Garden @ Smock Alley Theatre

Free entry. Drop-in event, no booking required.


Hopscotch in the Sky With Lucinda Jacob and Lauren O’Neill

In association with Poetry Ireland and Little Island Books

Join poet Lucinda Jacob and illustrator Lauren O’Neill as they take you on a magical journey in poems and pictures through the seasons of the year, with their new book Hopscotch in the Sky (Little Island Books and Poetry Ireland). Lucinda will describe how ideas for her poetry come from the world around her – from Dublin streets to Dún Laoghaire pier, and show young poets how to find their own inspiration and compose their own lines. Lauren will talk about how she transformed the words of Lucinda’s poems into beautiful artwork, and help young artists find their own inspiration in the written word.

Suitable for ages 8+

Sun 5 Nov @ 12pm - 12:45pm | Black Box @ Smock Alley Theatre

Free Admission. Booking Required.


Children’s Treasure Hunt

Why not sign your family up to the Dublin Book Festival Treasure Hunt? Follow our intriguing clues around Temple Bar, then return with all your answers and pick up your well-deserved prize. You can even dress up if you feel like it – give your Halloween outfit another day out! A special prize will be given for the best costume!

 

Sun 5 Nov @ 12pm - 4pm | The Winter Garden @ Smock Alley Theatre


The Winter Garden

Take refuge from the cold in our indoor winter garden, where you and your family can curl up on our beanbags with a book and hot chocolate. Try your hand at writing your own story, browse the bookshop or take part in one of our free, fun storytelling sessions and workshops. A free day for all the family where you can immerse yourself in the magical world of books!

 

Sun 5 Nov @ 12.00pm-5.00pm | The Winter Garden @ Smock Alley Theatre

Free entry. Drop-in event, no booking required


The Big Picture With PJ Lynch and Lauren O’Neill

In association with Laureate na nÓg

Help complete our final Big Picture wall with Ireland’s Laureate na nÓg PJ Lynch. The Big Picture was PJ’s idea and he is drawing massive story walls with children all over Ireland. PJ is an award winning author and illustrator. His latest picture book is Patrick and the President (Walker Books), a collaboration with Ryan Tubridy. PJ will be joined by Children’s Books Ireland award winner Lauren O’Neill. The only thing Lauren loves more than biscuits and walking her dog Smudge, is drawing workshops with kids. She reckons she learns more from them than they do from her. Come help PJ and Lauren to finish our final Big Picture.

Sun 5 Nov @ 1pm - 3pm | The Winter Garden @ Smock Alley Theatre

Free entry. Drop-in event, no booking required


Seoladh leabhair LeabhairCOMHAR | Book Launch

Seoladh leabhair spraíúil á eagrú ag LeabhairCOMHAR le údar an leabhar Foghlaí Mara Monte Carlo (Leabhair Comhar), Le hOrna Ní Choileáin. Léitheoirí 7-12 bliain d’aois.
A lively book launch organised by LeabhairCOMHAR with the author of Foghlaí Mara Monte Carlo (Leabhair Comhar), by Orna Ní Choileáin.

Suitable for readers between 7-12 years old.

Sun 5 Nov @ 2pm - 2:45pm | The Winter Garden @ Smock Alley Theatre

Free entry. Drop-in event, no booking requiredd


Smock Alley Theatre is delighted to host these events as part of the Dublin Book Festival 2017. To view the full festival programme visit www.dublinbookfestival.com